top of page

Drugstore Haul and First Impressions


Image of all products mentioned in this blog post.

Hey, and welcome back to my blog! So as you may know I’m kind of a makeup addict and am also constantly trying to find makeup that suits my skin, extenuates the areas of my face that I want to highlight as well as the dreaded (and rather formidable) ‘Sweat’ test! As I work out and train in sprinting and hurdling multiple times a week for a minimum of 1.5 hours and that makeup needs to stay on my face, okay girl? (I also have another blog post called ‘My Training Face’ where I talk about the reasons behind why I wear makeup o workout and train and what products that entails, if you wish to check that out J). However, I don’t have the sort f money to spend £30 on a tiny bottle of beige liquid that’s meant to hide those under eye circles thanks to biology class x catching up on Riverdale (girlllllll, that is some messed up rubbish down in Riverdale… but I’m still obsessed sooooooo…..) when in reality I have to use half of it on the Monday morning to make me just look like less of a zombie so that’s 15 quid down the rain. All I’m saying is that right now, I do not have the income to spend that sorta money on makeup, so Boots… Here I come!!

Nip+Fab contour palette (Shade 02 – medium)

I have been searching for a contour palette that offers me a rage of shades that I will actually use, if you get what I mean? Because in most contour palettes they will come with around 3-4 actual bronzing/contouring shades and then another couple of shades that are like banana powders or pale tan shades that have no relevance in a CONTOUR palette. However that is where the Nip+Fab contour palette triumphs! Especially in the medium palette aimed at olive toned skin, as this offers 6 beautiful deep warm toed shades that range from deep, rich chocolate called ‘Truffle’ to ‘Warm Honey’ that is more of a pale beach that I love for a beautiful matte blusher, which is very rare for me as I am defiantly more of a bronzer gal and rarely even touch blush but this shade is absolutely stunning! As well as also a beautiful deep gold colour perfect for highlighting and bringing the whole cheek situation together with a delicate subtle glow!

Furthermore the pigmentation on every single shade is absolutely phenomenal and with minimal fall-out from the palette itself. And the quality of the cosmetic itself is comparable to most other drugstore palettes. The packaging also runs with a high-end deigns as it hosts a simplistic black and white border, along with a clear window allowing you to fully see all of the shades included.

I honestly cannot fault this palette as it truly has a high-end feel and quality for the reasonable price of £10 for 6 gorgeous shades that have the staying power of an angel (I don’t know where I was going with that simile to be fair, aha ­J).

Nyx Lip Lingerie (Shade Honeymoon)

I know I am late to the hype on this product but I was in desperate need of a new brown toned lipstick/liquid lipstick so I thought that I may as well give Nyx a shot. Now, I was pleasantly surprised with the formulae of these liquid lipsticks as I don’t find them overly drying, although I’m not saying they are moisturizing by any means. So if you do struggle with dryness when wearing certain lip options then I wouldn’t recommend these, but if you fancy giving them a go then by all means do! As the lip lingerie has some of prettiest nude shades to offer. The shade ‘Honeymoon’ is a very dark brown/grey with a slight undertone of purple but is mainly on the brown side of things. This shade has allowed me to experiment with darker colours that I never would of felt comfortable wearing and I can’t praise the product enough for that. Additionally the finish is entirely matte and that makes the staying power well equipped for the entire day!

Overall I am definitely impressed with the Nyx lip lingerie, however not that I’ surprised about it!

Bourjois Radiance reveal concealer (shade 002)

This concealer was bought on a bit of a whim really but I am so so so impressed with it so far! Now, I am definitely a concealer girl at heart and it is definitely my firm and Holy Grail product. Especially as I have extremely dark under eye circles that are just there, and isn’t because I’m tired or dehydrated but simply because I have very intense pigmentation under my eyes. And therefore I am always ion the lookout for a new under-eye concealer. I have previously tried the collection lasting perfection and Maybelline age rewind concealer from the drugstore but I just haven’t seemed to get on with them as much as I hoped I would. Either because the formula wasn’t right, with it being not pigmented enough or just to drying or that the shade range just didn’t match my skin tone. However feel I have struck gold with Bourjois.

Radiance reveal is lovely and brightening and also offers fairly decent coverage (baring in my mind my dark circle are very, very dark, aha). The packaging is also something that beats all other drugstore concealers and although there is a scent I do not find t over powering for me personally.

The only drawback I have with this concealer is that it does oxidise and therefore I have gone for the medium making it slightly too orange if I don’t apply a lightening under-eye setting powder on top. However that’s nothing a shade 001 can’t fix!

Nyx micro-brow pencil (shade Taupe)

Now, I’m not gonna lie, but my brow shade is the most annoying shade. As although I have blonde hair, my eyebrows are extremely cool toned and rather dark considering I am on the fairer side of the spectrum. Therefore finding a brow product that matches my natural eyebrow colour can be a bit of a challenge to find, especially in the drugstore. But the Nyx micro-brow pencil in the shade Taupe is the bet colour I have managed to find in the drugstore. It is a very similar tone to the Seventeen eyebrow pencil taupe also however that had a lot more brow incorporated into it. Furthermore the formula of the Nyx pencil is unlike anything I’ve ever tried. It is a very dense and hard pencil and therefore the pigment payoff is subtle but very buildable, allowing you to have full control and create clear definition but still very natural. It also very tiny, as described by the micro-brow pencil, and by tiny I mean the packaging and also the thinness of the product, allowing you to be even more precise than with a pencil shaped pencil, aha J

The packaging is also very simplistic with a black and white aesthetic. The other end of the pencil comes with a spoolie which allows you to disperse the product evenly whilst also being very efficient with it being on the same product.

Overall, I am in love with this product an honestly see no need to look for an improvement.

Now, after spending a stupid amount of makeup, I have found 4 products that I am absolutely in love with and can’t recommend more! But I would love to know your favourite makeup products, whether they be high-end or drugstore, so I would love it if you could comment down below or message me on Instagram @daisyjaneblog where I am always active and would love your feedback. So if you would like to contact me that way as I am always looking to improve and create content that you enjoy! However you can also contact me straight from my blog on the contact page if you have any formal enquiries. Yet I would absolutely love it if you could subscribe and join the little community we are starting to build and make our own! Yet if you just want to give this a little like or even just you being here and reading this means the absolute world to me, and that in itself makes me so thankful!

I love you all, and can’t wait to see you around my blog some more!

-Daisy Jane xo

Links to the makeup mentioned:

  • Nip+fab Contour palette (shade 002 - medium): https://www.nipandfab.com/makeup/contour-palette-medium

  • Bourjois Radiace Reveal concealer: www.boots.com/bourjois-radiance-reveal-concealer

  • Nyx lip lingerie: http://www.nyxcosmetics.co.uk/en_GB/lips/lipstick/lip-lingerie/800897848286.html

  • Nyx Micro-brow pencil: http://www.nyxcosmetics.co.uk/en_GB/eyes/brows/micro-brow-pencil/800897836702.html

  • Business enquiries are always welcome

  • Instagram: @daisyjaneblog

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page