top of page

Summer Season Warm Up Drills - Hurdling & Sprinting

The summer season is a lot different to the winter season. Simply because most athletics comps are from around April to September meaning that in the summer (as a hurdler/sprinter) you focus more on starts, drive and just a whole lot more speed work. However, this wouldn’t be possible and this sort of training wouldn’t make any difference in your progress to becoming a better athlete if you didn’t get fitter and improve you stamina and endurance work in the winter. And that’s why you warm up differently in the summer compared to winter. As although it is shorter distances it is more explosive and with higher reps.

Furthermore, as I mentioned, I am a sprinter and hurdler but my main focus and what I enjoy most is hurdling. However, you need to do the speed work in sprinting tto progress in hurdling therefore I have a mixture of sessions throughout the week focusing in each event. Therefore, there is obviously a difference the entirety of the session so the warm will have some significant changes also.

But without any more hesitation I will let you know my summer Season Warm up and drills J

Sprinting (1hr 30mins session in total)

  • 5-10 strides over 80m – just to get everything moving and to raise heart rate

  • Forward and backwards light skips over 20m – x2

  • Forwards and backwards Crossover bounce skips over 20m – x2

  • High Knees over 20m – x2 (walk back recovery)

  • Heal Flicks over 20m – x2 (walk back recovery)

  • Straight legs over 20m – x2 (walk back recovery)

  • Isolations:

  1. Left leg over 20m & Right leg return – x2

  2. Alternate legs (2 steps in between each rise) forwards an backwards

  • 1 quicker stride over 80m

Warm up done, Spikes on and time for the sprint session!

Hurdling (2hr session)

Hurdling has all of the above because you are still sprinting, but instead have to run over barriers (also if you’re a fellow hurdler you’ll notice how I didn’t say ‘jump’ over the hurdles because you don’t! You are meant to just hurdle over the barriers without moving where your hips are). Therefore we have to add in some extra hurdle warm up you make sure that all of our muscles and joint in the upper leg area and hips are working harmoniously, so we can work on our coordination and technique to translate when we go over the hurdle at full speed.

  • 3-5 strides over 80m

  • Working over the hurdles:

  1. Forward Walk overs – x2 (Left leg lead)

  2. Forward walk over – x2 (Right leg lead)

  3. Bounce walk overs – x2 (left leg lead)

  4. Bounce walk over – x2 (Right leg lead)

  5. Alternate lead leg walkover – 1 leg in between – x3 forwards

  6. Alternate lead leg walkover – 1 leg in between – x3 backwards

  7. Side step over hurdles – x2 (right leg lead)

  8. Side step over hurdles x2 (Left leg lead)

  • Sprint warm up (as above)

  • (spikes on)

  • Hurdles at correct spacing’s for age group: 5 strides in between 3-5 hurdles (a pitta patter movement) – x3

  • Hurdle Isolations: Lead leg and trail leg

And that is my summer season warm up and drill exercises for both sprinting and hurdling! I know sport isn’t for everyone, but I personally love it and believe that is it very important to stay active and healthy! IF you would like anymore sport based blog posts of mine then just check out the ‘Related post’ section down below! I would also love to know what sports you compete and train in, so jus comment down below or message me via Instagram @daisyjaneblog . I would also love it if you could subscribe to my blog so that you can keep up to date with future post such as ones like these, or beauty and lifestyle related topics which I also have on my log if you would like to check them out also! And like this post or any other of my posts that you enjoy, just by clicking on that little heart, to let e know that you like this sort of content. But my name is Daisy Jane and I really hope you have enjoyed my blog post!

All of my love,

Daisy Jane x

  • Don’t forget to subscribe to keep updated

  • I am always open to business and brand situations. You can reach me on the contact page of my blog or also via Instagram.

  • Instagram handle: @daisyjaneblog

  • If you are a fellow blogger or public figure/youtuber then I always happy to collaborate also

  • Comment & Like J

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page